Rainy Tuesday

It’s a rainy Tuesday morning around here. The rain woke me up at about 3am, thunder and lightning, the who shebang. I still slept really well last night. I needed it. I also am glad and thankful to get back to my routine. I did my usual 5:30am workout (weights + HIIT cardio). My left knee was feeling funky last night, probably from no rest day this weekend, so I kept the cardio to the elliptical, which always helps.

I definitely try to listen to my body these days. Yesterday, I only stayed on campus til about 12, when I decided I was too tired and emotionally exhausted to stay the entire day. So I came home, ate lunch, and laid/napped on the couch for the next 4 hours. I woke up feeling a bit better. Sometimes, your body nudges you, sometimes your body screams at you to slow down and take a break. Yesterday was the latter.

I saw this post yesterday, and considering the direction my life is taking currently, I was intrigued and had to read it and subsequently email it to myself.

I found this quote to be exceptionally striking:

“I would like to beg of you, dear friend, as well as I can, to have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question.” –Rainer Maria Rilke

I have so many questions, fears, and worries at the present time. So much is unknown to me and so many things I do not have the slightest idea how I’m going to achieve. I remind myself to have patience. To live each day at a time, and do not push myself further than I am currently able. I know that I need to live the questions right now and ride out this experience. Does not make this any easier though.

Leave a Reply

