Life Rules

I read this post last night, and this morning a few of these “life rules” were stuck in my head. Primarily:

#2. What others think of you is none of your business

and,

#4. Don’t compare your life to others and don’t judge them. You have no idea what their journey is all about. 

Now, I know these things to be true and I sincerely believe them and want to live this way. However, I can’t help but think that so many of my thoughts and concerns lately revolve around whether or not I’m “fitting” into someone else’s preconceived notions about who I’m supposed to be or what is considered “normal”.

normal

I think most of the reason I’ve been thinking this way is out of uncertainty of what I want out of life right now. I’ll be 25 this Sunday and I’m feeling a little “stuck” in grad school, so perhaps I’ve been overcompensating by trying to “find myself” in other ways. I’m having a hard time accepting the “long-termness” of my situation right now, so I constantly look to “what others would do” for inspiration on what I could or should be doing.

But I am going to stop and remember that (1) I can’t worry whether or not other people think my choices are normal or right, because there is no such thing as normal or right and besides, these are MY choices! And (2) there is never any point in comparing where I am in my life to someone else because no one is exactly like me, it’s like comparing apples and oranges!

Phew, deep on a Tuesday, but I’d like to thank my birthday twin, GlidingCalm, for the thoughtfulness!

Off to work I go….

2 thoughts on “Life Rules

Leave a Reply

