Why

When tragedies such as the one that happened yesterday in Boston occur, I can’t help but ask why? It is my nature to want to know the cause of something, especially something so devastating that impacts us all. The rational person in me knows that asking why doesn’t take it back, doesn’t change the situation, and the best thing we can all do is hope for comfort for those who lost loved ones yesterday and for those who experienced it firsthand.

I have been thinking a lot lately about perspective. Specifically, that I’ve been getting lost in my point-of-view lately and forgetting that there are others in the world fighting much greater battles than the one I have in my life. It’s when I talk to people…no wait, it’s when I listen to others, that I realize how important it is for all of us to step back out of our own problems and situations every day and think about the big picture. Our day-to-day worries are so minute compared to many other much greater issues.

This was a ramble, but it’s been on my mind. I truly hate what happened yesterday, but I am so thankful that there are people there who are self-sacrificing and able come to the aid of those in times of need.

Leave a Reply

