My Weekend…Instagram Style

In order to make this Monday less painful than it’s already been (I’m just dragging today), I thought I reminisce about the awesome weekend I had through words and pictures.

This past Friday was a long one (TWSS). In any type of animal research, there is a lot of work involved, and conducting research on drug abuse is no different. We had a full day of surgeries (on a Friday!) and therefore my weekend started with one of these…

Stoli vodka martini, extra dry. The only way to go.

Stoli vodka martini, extra dry. The only way to go.

I was in bed by 10:30pm Friday night and it felt fantastic. Saturday began with my usual ritual of waking up and taking my time with breakfast and coffee before heading to a favorite of mine: TRX/spin class! This combination workout kicks my butt everytime while simultaneously making me feel like a million bucks. Now tell me how that works?

Saturday also included an awesome 20ish mile leisure ride on the multi-use trail with a friend. And by leisure, I mean we plopped down in the grass for a 20 minute break to stare out at the reservoir and enjoy the weather.

I love my Trek bike and I plan to do a post dedicated to my road bike soon.

I love my Trek bike and I plan to do a post dedicated to my road bike soon.

 

Saturday night was spent grilling out at my parents’ house with friends. We have a great patio and there is nothing I love more than sitting out on it and drinking wine just as the weather is warming up. My dad grilled some grouper and red snapper fillets that my family caught this summer on a deep sea fishing trip in Florida. (Don’t worry, they’d been frozen ever since)

IMG_1784 IMG_1783

Saturday night ended with me attempting to stay up past 10pm and drink wine and chat, but what really happened was this:

Covered in dogs. Best sleep ever.

Covered in dogs. Best sleep ever.

Sunday began lazily, but I went on a pretty challenging 25 mile ride with another group of friends. It was another great day for outdoor cycling and we were on some really nice country roads that make you feel like Lance Armstrong…at least when you’re going downhill.

 

IMG_1785

And of course, no Sunday would be complete for the next couple of weeks without a little GOT action…Am I right?

game-of-thrones-season-3

And that is my weekend in a very small nutshell…now I know why I’m sad on Mondays…

 

Leave a Reply

