One Month To Go…

Yesterday marked exactly one month until my 25th birthday. Honestly, I’m not one to think very much of age and growing older, I mainly look at birthdays as an excuse to celebrate and feel special for a day. Our culture tells me that turning 25 is a “milestone”…yea, like 18, 21, 30, 40 and all the other ones are. Culture also tells me that I am officially an adult now too. I think I’m pretty grown-up at 24 though. In fact, most of my habits are those of someone much more mature than I am. (9pm bedtime anyone?)

aging

Regardless of how this sounds, I’m excited to celebrate my birthday in a month (I’ll take any excuse to drink a margarita). I think it would be nice to take the next 30 days to focus on me and to focus on aspects of my life that are great and aspects that are not-so-great. Where can I make changes? Where do I want to stay the same?

I know for sure there are a few areas I can look at with a more discriminative eye:

  • Organization of schoolwork- I’m finding it difficult to organize my thoughts and create coherent ideas in working towards my dissertation right now. I feel like this is related to the lack of organization of information and research. So, every time I read something, I make a note about it. That way it’s not another useless fact floating around in no man’s land.
  • Taking my time- I’m the ultimate multitasker. And I mean that in the worst way possible. I rarely am just “watching TV”, I’m usually watching TV, surfing the internet on my iPad and thinking about other things. I’m going to try my hardest to do One. Thing. At. A. Time. I think it would help my always cluttered brain settle down a bit, and I just might feel like I’m in less of a hurry all of the time.
  • Communication- Because I am all over the place most days when it comes to work and life outside of work, I feel like I’ve lost a sense of healthy communication. Some days I can barely squeeze in time to take my dog out, much less human connection. This might go hand in hand with slowing things down a bit and taking my time, even if I don’t feel like I have the time. There is ALWAYS time to do the things I want and need to do for myself. I’m going to stop living by the clock a little bit and see how this effects my ability to give attention where attention is due in areas of my life.

Well, this post took a different direction than expected but that’s okay. Hopefully writing these things down will help me to take them to heart over the next month, and maybe turning 25 will be more than just another year older.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

