Luc

I’d always considered myself a cat person. I had the most precious black cat named Kiki from the time I was five until I was 22. She was always in my room at my parents’ house, even when I didn’t live there anymore and I would come home and visit from college. I think my personality is even similar to that of cats. I’m naturally introverted, I like to have a sense of independence and I’m somewhat picky about the people I let come around.

IMG_0021

I’ve lived in my apartment, alone since I began grad school in the fall of 2010. So I’m going on 3 years of solo-habitating. After that first year, I felt settled, and I began longing for a companion. For some reason, I felt like I was ready for a dog. I still love cats, and can definitely see myself having both cats and dogs in the future, when I own a home and a yard.

I decided on goldendoodles after a lot of research and thinking and eventually becoming obsessed with this big, teddy-esque breed of sweet and friends pups. And like clockwork, my mom called one day to tell me she had found a breeder nearby with a new litter of black goldendoodle puppies

IMG_0678

The sweet male of the litter that stole my heart was named Indiana by the breeder (this litter of puppies all had names of states). Eventually I decided I was going to call him Luc.

IMG_0694 IMG_0707

He came home with me on February 10, 2012, and has been the most loving incredible joy in life every since. I am truly that annoying pet owner that talks to him like he is my human child.

  IMG_0798 IMG_0762

And boy did he grow up fast! Luc turned 1 year old in December, and he was already pushing about 70 lbs.

IMG_1137 IMG_1244

I’m so thankful for him. He’s comforting, playful, adorable, fluffy and hilarious all at the same time. I don’t remember what life was like without this sweet boy, and I don’t want to. So this is my boy, my sweet goldendoodle, Luca…

IMG_0914

2 thoughts on “Luc

  1. Pingback: On Grad School: Part III- A Day in the Life | The PhD Experiment

  2. <3<3<3

    I was a cat person my whole childhood. I had stuffed cats instead of dolls. Now, I am a huge crazy dog lady 🙂 Still like cats, tho. Love your pup!

Leave a Reply

