On Grad School: Part I

For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be an M.D. Specifically, a neurologist. I wanted to study the brain, learn about the brain and know everything there was to know about the brain. I loved science from the moment I took my first biology class back in elementary school. I remember riding in the car with my dad one day and asking him, “what kind of doctor looks at brains?”, to which he replied, “Neurologists.” And from that day on, I proudly told whoever would listen that I was going to be a neurologist.

Fast forward 12 1/2 years, I am 24, and a graduate student in the Program in Neuroscience. Nowadays, I tell people I going to be a Ph.D. and a neuroscientist. In most cases, people assume this is the same thing or similar to an M.D. and a neurologist.

I guess I am one of the few people in the world who actually ended up doing what they said they were going to do when they were 12 years old. I’m studying the brain, learning about the brain and I’m going to know a great deal about what there is to know about the brain.

There was never a question in my mind that I would go on to continue my education after college. I think that was what my parents instilled in me from day one. They value education, and I’m eternally grateful to them for that. I am naturally a driven person and I thrive to achieve. Part of this is genetics, I’m sure, but a large part of it is from my upbringing. These personality characteristics are what brought me to graduate school. Achievement means a great deal to me. And so does ensuring my secure future.

I’ll write another post that is more about where I am in grad school now, but it was hard to start thinking about where I am now without first remembering what brought me here.

Until next time,

J

Leave a Reply

